Four Paths to Raising Consciousness

marina Uncategorized

In the previous post, I talked about various ways of assessing the level of our individual consciousness. Today, I will start a discussion on various paths to raising consciousness. These paths – in one manner or another – have been pinpointed in almost all sacred texts of all religions. However, in the most clear and expansive way – at least from my point of view – they were described in the two ancient Hindu scriptures:

  • Bhagavad Gita – a part of the Hindu epic Mahabharata and
  • Yoga Sutras – a sacred text ascribed to the hand of Patanjali – a master and mystic of ancient India.

Distilled from these two sacred writings are the four paths to raising consciousness or the four paths to experiencing the Presence of God. They include:

  1. The path of loving devotion to God (bhakti yoga)
  2. The path of God-dedicated action (karma yoga)
  3. The path of intellectual discrimination (jnana yoga)
  4. The path of taming the mind through concentration and meditation (raja yoga)

In the four subsequent posts, I will describe each of these paths. I will also pinpoint the pitfalls that are likely to await us there.

Please stay tuned.